No snag sinker?

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by Flat Top, Apr 30, 2020.

1. Flat Top

Flat Top Well-Known Member

State:
    Missouri
    Name:
    George
    I have watched catters in boats on Y-tube "drift" bait and it amazed me how little they snag the sinkers....so, I started investigating the types of sinkers they use (thought something like that may work for bank fishing).

Over the past few months I tried the paracord filled with lead thing, and I was still snagging from time to time...but better than my no rolls, etc. So, I started playing around...started with BIG plastic straws (to weak for hard casting)....and ended up with these.

I have tried them at some of the best "snag spots" I fish, and surprisingly I have not had a snag once!!! I had one hang up just a bit but slight pressure broke it free....and saved the paper clip and weight. I use the paper clips as a release device just in case I do get hung up but havent had to break off yet (knock on wood). I am just going to keep using these to see where it goes, but, I think them being rigid and fairly long is the key to their success. Just made them from some old PVC,and lead shot I had laying around, etc, so they are rough looking, but cheap......also, they do not seem to hinder casting distance in any way.

I use these with a dropper loop rig.

Attached Files:

rba, BCT, prlwng and 4 others like this.
  2. Hurst11

Hurst11 Well-Known Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Name:
    Nathan Hurst
    Good idea. They do look rough but who cares. Cheap,I like cheap and even more if it works and it does look like they should work very good. If ya do lose one no biggie

Flat Top likes this.

3. Jbuck

Jbuck Well-Known Member

State:
    il
    Name:
    Jay