Nightcrawler collection time

Discussion in 'LOCAL KANSAS TALK' started by delbert bumbleshoot, Apr 18, 2008.

1. delbert bumbleshoot

delbert bumbleshoot New Member

State:
    Overland Park,Kansas
    As I was out in the middle of the night at the side of the road in my gore-tex rain suit in a torrential downpour with a flashlight and a five gallon bucket 1/3 full of a writhing mass of 10" Garter snake like worms. The Overland Park Police pulled up and wanted to know what the heck I was doing. After they ran my license I assured them I lived right across the street and I'm not a prowler or peeping tom. The cop says with a smile if you're out in the pouring rain in the middle of the night with a flashlight picking up nightcrawlers....... You might be a redneck. I think he's right. But I picked up about 500 of the biggest,baddest nightcrawlers. It is that time of year....after a big storm walk the gutters that still are wet. I can pick up almost infinite numbers within 75 feet of my house. My worm farm is now overflowing.Get in the right place where a tributary dumps in a bigger lake or a creek runs into a smaller one and you can kill the big channel cats after a really hard rain. I caught 40 in 4 hours one day last year with 6 over 10lbs the biggest 24lbs and 36inches all in a 25' wide creek not more than 3' deep .....course the worms I was baiting with were free so the fact that I was using about 4 or 5 whole nightcrawlers on a 4/0 j hook with a bobber 18" deep didn't cost an arm and a leg.If I had to buy them at $2.00/dozen I couldn't afford to do that. Eric

2. GaryF

GaryF New Member

State:
    O.P., KS
    "if you're out in the pouring rain in the middle of the night with a flashlight picking up nightcrawlers....... You might be a redneck."