Night fishin' in the rain

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by santee_catman, Apr 17, 2008.

1. I was wondering what you guys thought about shallow night fishing w/ rain.
    I'm probably gonna go back out again early sun a.m. and the forecast may include rain. I wouldn't think it would effect the deep water bite much
    but, not sure about shallow. I know the weather front itself(barametric
    pressure,etc) can effect but, last thing i want to do is be out at 3:eek:o am
    w/ it raining and not catching fish. what do you guys think?

2. droptine77

droptine77 New Member

State:
    Anderson, SC
    I'm no expert but, as long as there is no lightning I love fishing in the rain. It always seems to get them stirred up. Let us know how you do!

3. uttatoo

uttatoo New Member

State:
    greatbend kansas
    as long as the cold front is not to cold it should be great in the summer i love fishing in the rain it seems to wake the cats up

4. nasty nate

nasty nate New Member

State:
    south carolina
    Last june, my bro in law and I went down to santee, and when we got there it was raining and the wind was blowing really hard. We decided to wait it out. We finally got out on the water at 11 P.M. We headed out to the rock wall at the top of the canal, and started catching them right away. I can't remember how many we caught, but it was a lot. They ranged from 5 to 35 pounds. But I honestly believe that the rain get's them stired up, and turns them on, at least in the warm weather.

5. catfisherman_eky3

catfisherman_eky3 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Hey I have fished in the rain many nights it shouldnt affect your fishing one thing that I have noticed fishing when it rains is it seems like the fish bite better in the rain, I guess it stirms them up and they move around more.

6. IndianCoach

IndianCoach New Member

State:
    S.C.