Newbie ?

Discussion in 'All Catfishing' started by JOHN12, Nov 30, 2007.

1. JOHN12

JOHN12 New Member

State:
    LA
    When using noodles or jugs what lb line should u use? Circle hooks ok?

Also, posted elswhere but what is the the largest catfish u can eat, I was told anything over ten lbs was no good, also when using jus/noodles how far off bottom should u fish??

Thanks
    John

2. don3778

don3778 New Member

State:
    Walkervill
    First let me welcome you to the BOC. I'm sure you will enjoy being a member and the fellowship.

Now, I'm not a professional jug fisherman or anything but I will tell you how we rig ours. As far as line size we usually use a 30 to 40 lb. braided line just because they are gonna get hung up. We do use circle hooks on most of ours but it just depends as to wheather you are fishing for big fish or just something for the table. As far as depth goes its the same thing, if you just want something for the table shallow will get it done. We fish the Red river a lot and there if you just want something to eat you run your drops about 18 to 24 inches, and fish the shallow cuts with swift water. Works for us anyway. The bigger fish are usually in or around the deeper water.

As far as eating a big fish, I guess you can eat them as large as they grow as long as they are cleaned properly. Be sure to cut the blood streak from around the backbone if you filet them.

Hope this helps you.

Good fishing.

don3778

3. griz

griz Well-Known Member

State:
    Murray Ky.
    Personally I use size 18 braided line for my jugs, it's 150lb test. For hooks I use 2/0 big-eye trotline hooks.
    Now this is just my opinion on the size of fish.