Newbie Question

Discussion in 'LOCAL NORTH CAROLINA TALK' started by Relocated-Yankee, Nov 27, 2008.

1. Relocated-Yankee

Relocated-Yankee New Member

State:
    Goldsboro
    Hello,

I have been fishing for about 40 years, but never for catfish! I am also new to this club, so I hope I am posting in the right place.

I fish in a small river in eastern NC. I am fishing the outside bends where there are large snags. I have a Ugly Stik 6'6" MH rod with an Abu Ultra-Mag reel (circa 1986). I am running 20# Trilene BG with a 2oz no-roll slip sinker. I am using an 18", 50# leader with a 4/0 mustad sea circle hook. I believe this river has a decent population of channel cats.

Finally here is the question... What bait to use in this cold water? I don't have any live bait or cut bait. I can get night crawlers, or frozen shimp, or chicken livers at wal-mart. Or is this the wrong time of year to start catfishing???

Thanks

Scott

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Scott Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois. Your rigging sounds good. If you have more current you will need to up your weight size. Look for the deep holes also. You need shad or skipjack but if you can't accure that I would go with shrimp soaked in garlic.

3. Relocated-Yankee

State:
    Goldsboro
    So get some shrimp from the grocery store, peel it, and soak it in some type of garlic brine?

Let me know if I got that right. Is this bait best for cold water in the winter months, or is it effective all year?

BTW, thanks for the Welcome, happy to be here!

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    You got it correct. Garlic powder from the grocery store will work fine. I place it in a zip lock bag and coat it heavy. Use the next day. The longer it sets the better it works. It is most effective in the warm months but will catch fish in the cold months also. Be patient and good fishing.

5. stoney53

stoney53 Well-Known Member

State:
    PA