Newbie on rods??

Discussion in 'Fishing Rod Review' started by LadyValea1, Sep 7, 2006.

1. LadyValea1

LadyValea1 New Member

State:
    Fort Worth, Tex
    Hi... I'm new to catfishing, been catfishing all summer long. I love it!!
    I'm using a spincast reel combo 7feet that cost $25
    I've had good luck fishing from the banks and docks...
    I feel ready for an advance rod and reel..but I really don't know much about anything. I bought a Garcia baitcasting reel. I'll have to practice with this one for a long time.
    I'm wondering about the rods.. what does it mean Heavy? Medium? is that the weight of the rod? and I must consider the fore grip length and rear grip length because I a petite lady.. also what is the deal with soft tip ? sensetive deal thingy
    thanks....this is a great site

2. sgt_rob

sgt_rob Member

State:
    Bossier City, LA
    Tina, personally I'd get a 7' MH (medium/heavy) rod for that Abu 5600. Make sure it isn't too flimsy at the tip. Getting an Ugly Stick from WalMart is likely your best bet. Just make sure you get on that is for Casting, not spinning. The spinning rods have really big guides whereas the casting rods do not.

Good luck

3. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    Sarge made a good suggestion. The ugly stick is inexpensive, difficult to hurt, and will do the job. I've got the same reel (C4 version). Its a great reel and, once you learn how to set the cast control, it will be easy to use. My other primary baitcaster is also an Abu, but a different model. It was the world of difference when I switched to the 5600. Very smooth reel.

4. bluesbrother

bluesbrother New Member

State:
    texas
    med and med heavy is reffering to the action acourding on the size fish med hvy is about right for most catfishing needs.hope this helps.

5. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member