Newbie needs help and advice on bank fishing Chickamauga dam

Discussion in 'LOCAL TENNESSEE TALK' started by tnsojaman, Aug 12, 2008.

1. tnsojaman

tnsojaman New Member

State:
    Chattanooga, Tn
    Hey guys, long enough title for ya?!? LOL I am a newbie to fishing for catfish. I have been fishing pretty regularly below Chickamauga dam but without much luck. I have been using nightcrawlers and shad, live and cut, and ocassionally a 3-5 inch bluegill. I have been watching other people around me and they have not been doing much better. they are blowing so much water through right now I cant keep my bait on bottom, using a slip sinker rig, 3/0 - 5/0 cirlce hook, with a swivel and bead with a 2-3 oz egg sinker. since I can't keep it on bottom I just let it drift downstream and then reel it in and recast. Like I said I have not had much luck at all. I don't have a boat so I am limited to fishing from the bank. I know that fishing in August is supposed to be tough, but I know that I could be doing better. What or where do I need to be targeting? Shallow or deep? Rocks or mud? Flats or drop offs? Brush or clear bottom? Any advice would be appreciated. I just wanna catch some fish!!!

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Chuck Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois.:0a18::0a25::0a25:

3. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Welcome to the BOC Chuck.

4. tnsojaman

tnsojaman New Member

State:
    Chattanooga, Tn
    thanks guys, I was very happy to find a place like this. Thanks again for the welcome.

5. cumberlandcat

cumberlandcat New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Try skip jack chunks they should be easy to catch down there and I might try moving down a little bit where the current isn't so rough. But it is summer time and the fishing is a little slow right now. I am waiting for the cooler weather myself.

6. punkin570

punkin570 New Member

State:
    MS