New To River Fishing for Flathead Catfish

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by KYCATFISHHUNTER, Feb 10, 2006.

1. KYCATFISHHUNTER

KYCATFISHHUNTER New Member

State:
    NORTHERN KENTUCKY
    Hi Fellas ,
    Im Fairly New To Fishing The River. I Can Fish The Ohio From Meldahl Dam Through Cincinnati And The Licking River. I Can Only Fish From The Bank. I Need Help On Learning How To Locate Good Areas To Fish For Flatties. All The Info Will Help. Thank You All

2. flatcatnightmare

flatcatnightmare New Member

State:
    south east Indiana
    Howdy , Im Bill I fish your areas mostly around Tanners or Big Miami, on the main river look for lots of structure or outside bends on the river , sunken barges, theres a place in Saylor Park that has a sunken barge and lots of structure there thats a good spot , also try the Ky side of the Anderson Ferry , maybe we can get together some time and fish

3. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    KYCAT

Structure, stucture & structuce is what all your looking for.

Being stuck to the bank has alot of good points Kycat. Yes having a boat opens up alot more spots to fishin but if in a boat I would suggest ALWAYS having a partner then too. That could slow one down when it comes time to fish and then when they gotta go so do you. In a boat and it starts to rain if could send you to the dock.

As you can guess I'm a bankfisher for the Tabbys too and its by choice too ;) ! I have a Pavillion type if there callin fer rain I put up and build a nice fire if chilly. I nap alot in a lawn chair with bells on the rods.