New to noodling

Discussion in 'Alternative Methods of Catching Catfish' started by chrisla11, Mar 31, 2008.

1. chrisla11

chrisla11 New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    I'm new to noodling. Was just wondering a good place to go to get started. Any advice would be appreciated. I live in okc.

2. vtjefferson

vtjefferson New Member

State:
    IA
    i just watch a show abuot it on ngeo channel

3. noodlin Will

noodlin Will New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    If I were you I would try some of the smaller rivers around like the south Canadian or north Canadian. those are your closest options but if you go north canadian go far enough down river so its legal (past sw10th street I think) all the oklahoma river is off limits to noodlers now. If you want to go any further the washita river is good to the south and cimmeron to the north.

4. chrisla11

chrisla11 New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    I just watched the same show. What month is best time to start noodling?

5. noodlin Will

noodlin Will New Member

State:
    oklahoma
    well if you like cold water the traditional time is during the spawn. This starts in May and lasts through June but this is what noodlers catch a lot of criticism for because you are taking males of their nests and leaving them vulnerable to predators. Another option is to wait until mid to late summer when the water in the small rivers is hot and the current is very low. the fish are in almost a hibernating state during the day conserving oxygen because hot water holds very little oxygen. They will lay still enough for you to have a chance to get ahold of them most of the time but when they feel threatened the fight will be on. I hope this helps and if you decide to go during the spawn their is no reason you can't practice catch and release and ensure the next generation of flatties.

6. oklahoma caveman

oklahoma caveman New Member

State:
    oklahoma