new to muzzle loading

Discussion in 'Guns - Blackpowder' started by adam1886, Dec 18, 2009.

1. adam1886

adam1886 New Member

State:
    higginsville,missouri
    well as the title says im new to muzzle loading. a couple weeks ago i bought my first muzzle loader. thompson center omega .50 cal with a simmons scope. i couldnt pass it up for $150. wish i would have offered $100 now:smile2:. anyways i plan on taking it elk hunting next fall if i can draw a tag and would like to know if anyone else has this gun and what are some good load combinations. i plan on shooting it a bunch this summer to find what i like the best, but it would be nice if i could get it narrowed down a little first so i dont waste my money on tons of different kinds of bullets. right now im shooting 2 pyrodex pellets with 250 grain sabots. when i go for elk i'll bump it up to 3 pyrodex pellets. any tips will be greatly appreciated. also for anyone who might have the omega, what is the effective range for these guns? tomorrow is opening day of muzzle loader season here in MO so hopefully ill get lucky!

2. 7mmmag1

7mmmag1 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    If its accurate Id say bout 200 yards on a deer

3. seokfisherman

seokfisherman Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    My gun likes the Barnes Expander MZ sabots or Knight Red Hots which are the same thing. When I hunt areas with long shots I load 150 grains of Triple Seven and the 220 grain Barnes which is spitzer shaped. Farthest shot on a deer so far has been about 165 yards. Closer shots I like the 250 Barnes. That big hollow point is devasting on deer. Obviously you will have to see whats legal to use wherever you plan to elk hunt at.

4. Welder

Welder New Member

State:
    Missouri