New to Lake of the Ozarks

Discussion in 'MISSOURI LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by Taliesin, May 23, 2006.

1. Taliesin

Taliesin New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I just started fishing LOZ just below Truman dam. My only real problem lately has been getting shad.

A bit of background first:
    I live in Sedalia, work at Whiteman AFB, and drive to the dam at least once a week (usually 3 or 4 times). I have no boat, so am limited to shore fishing. I just started getting into serious catfishing, so my tackle is barely up to the fishing there until 26 May when the new reel comes in for my new rod.
    From what I have heard from everyone down there, usually when the water is running there is never a problem getting shad with a throw net. I have been using these for several years to get bait, usually on smaller lakes getting bluegill or large minnows (up to 11"). This year has been very strange though, with very little in the way of shad near the bank, whether the water is running or not. Matter of fact, luck has usually been better with no water running.
    Where is a good place to get shad fairly quickly lately?

Thanks for any answers. Maybe I'll see some of you down by the fence on the Station side of the dam.

2. Crispy Critter

Crispy Critter New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Welcome to the BOC Curtis.I live on LOZ but I haven't fished up around Warsaw for a couple years so I wouldn't be much help.There is several on here up that way though that will be glad to help you I'm sure.

3. Mr.T

Mr.T Active Member

State:
    MO
    If you're a bank fisherman, finding shad is a lot tougher than in a boat.