New to Kayak Fishing.

Discussion in 'Kayaker and Canoe Fishing' started by goshawk, Apr 27, 2009.

1. goshawk

goshawk New Member

State:
    Georgia
    Hi I am new to Kayak fishing and have only been out one time.

First thing I realized it that it sure helps to be organized.

Another thing I noticed is that I caught a couple of catfish but as I was paddling around I would put them on a stringer and just drag them around.

But then I started thinking what if I was doing a two or three day trip down the river. Where do you folks store your catch?

Also I made a nice homemade Rod holder with a piece of PVC pipe and a U-Clamp.

Pat

Attached Files:

2. jeremiad

jeremiad Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia
    Welcome to the BOC kayak/canoe forum, Pat! :0a25:

Floating a SOT, I have a few more options, I guess. For the most part I throw them in a bucket of water, or whack them and put 'em on ice in the cooler.

Others use fish bags. In fact, KFS sells a great fish bag for a SIK that mounts on the front (if you're willing to shell out the dough for it :wink:).

3. schoonie

schoonie New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I just use a stringer. Filet 'em at the end of the day and put on ice.

4. kitsinni

kitsinni New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Well I almost never keep fish and my kayak is a 14.5' so I could bring a shark back with me so I am of no help.

Good luck kayak fishing!

5. jeremiad

State:
    Virginia
    With a kayak/canoe? I would find a stringer a real problem. I already fight wind, current, and fish on the line...I wouldn't want to add one more line full of unhappy critters out there to pull my yak around. :tounge_out:

I would definitely vote for getting your keepers out of the water and out of your way!

6. schoonie

schoonie New Member

State:
    Oklahoma