New to goose hunting

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by Shenandoah, Aug 25, 2008.

1. Shenandoah

Shenandoah New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I'm new to goose hunting did a little this winter with some friends. I'm planning on hunting as soon as the sept. season comes in and I'll go after ducks as well but I don't much about going after waterfowl but I've got birds everywhere. I'm shooting a mossberg 12gauge what kind of choke and shells should I use? I'll be river and field shooting so I'll have some close fast flying birds and long distance birds. Birds as small as woodies. also whats a good call for geese to get thats cheap? and whats a goose flute? Hows it different from other calls? Any advice on how to cheaply decoy? And whats a way to cook my goose or duck and have it taste good? Thanks.

2. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    This is what I use ,Ithaca 12 ga 3" ,I use the improved Cyl choke tube if I happen to shoot larger steel shot like F and T ,but I can't find it much anymore. If I'm using smaller shot say bb or bbb I use the mod. tube. They seem to work fairly well.I would opt for an after market choke tube especially made for steel waterfoul loads,But Everyone has left the Ithica line by the wayside. Theyre plenty of A M choketubes for most other makes. As for calls,I use a faulks and a Haydels,Both are great goose calls. Dont skimp on decoys and Make sure you are completely camoed they can see very well. I make covers from burlap 36" wide x7 ft long and if ya throw up to shoot and it happens to hang on your bbl ,just blast through it. cheap camo.

3. DIESELkat

DIESELkat New Member

State:
    PA