New to fly fishing

Discussion in 'Fly Fishing' started by drcatfish14, Mar 15, 2007.

1. drcatfish14

drcatfish14 New Member

State:
    indiana
    Hey boc flyers im new to fly fishing,and use one of my grandpa's old rigs.I would like to buy a new rod and reel. Was wondering what would be a good medium priced outfit to start with?:0a35:

2. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    Welcome Doug ,I just started toying with fly-fishing last summer so im not much help but I bought a nice comboat wally world for around 40.00 even came with a few flies. its a 9 ft 5-6 wt

3. Wyocatman

Wyocatman New Member

State:
    Centralia, Illinois
    I woulkd say Redingtonor a cabelas package. Maybe even St. Croix or a lower end Cortland package. More importantly than price, I would look at the warranty. My Redington outfit cost 150 but it has an unconditional lifetime warranty. No matter what life brings upon it, they will repair it or replace it for free for life. Now thats what i call an investment.

Dru

4. blindfly69

blindfly69 New Member

State:
    kentucky
    its up to you but i would stay away from wal mart, or meijer combos.... go to a pro shop and they'll hook you up great with your correct specifications

5. field989

field989 New Member

State:
    east central indiana
    St.Croix Premier combo from Hook and Hackle....

i got it and PERFECT.... and for a GREAT price... all ready to go!!!

its great improved my casting by 50%!! easier to cast and the whole 9 yards

its a 5wt and 9 ft.... 4 piece

i HIGHLY recomment it......

Good luck and happy fishing

Jeff

6. fishinnstudyin

fishinnstudyin New Member

State:
    MO