New to flatheads (and AZ)...gear to use?

Discussion in 'LOCAL ARIZONA TALK' started by lylefk, Aug 8, 2008.

1. lylefk

lylefk New Member

State:
    az
    Hey, I'm new to AZ (moving there shortly) and have no experience with Flatheads...I've caught Channels up to 20 lbs and some change (see my avatar) out in CA where I'm originally from, but nothing as large as these will get. I've also been out of the fishing scene for a few years and am behind the times on equipment too.

Here are my questions:

1) I see people using upwards of 50b test...a superline of some sort I imagine?

2) Do most people use spinning reels or bait casting? I've done well with both, and had good success with a custom strike detector system I came up with for spinning reels as well as using the clicker on a bait casting reel...

3) What is the most popular super line out there these days? I had a ton of trouble with Firewire back in the day, it would spin on the spools really badly. Eventually, I settled on 12lb Maxima mono for Catfish and Salmon. It tested right around 17lb and had good abrasion resistance.

4) Does anyone have a diagram of the rig people are using for live bait? Or a good explanation? I read one and it made no sense...I've never used a bobber for catfish before, but then I've never used live bait either... :eek:oooh:

I love Gamakatsu circle hooks and will stick with those unless someone has a good reason not to.

Thanks for the suggestions, I'm sure I'll come up with more...

Lyle!

2. MichaelP

MichaelP New Member

State:
    Arizona