New to catfishing

Discussion in 'OHIO RIVERS TALK' started by dbtrail400, Jun 22, 2009.

1. dbtrail400

dbtrail400 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Hey everyone im new to catfishing and in need of some advice. I went out last night on the maumee river and didnt have any luck. I fished near the water treatment plant in perrysburg for a few hours, and just used worms. I was wandering where you all like to fish and have had some luck. I can only fish off the bank as i dont have a boat. I dont expect anyone to give up any secret spots but somewhere where i can get started. Im planning on soon going out to catch some bluegills to fish with. Anything right now would be very helpful. I have read all over this site and its already been a huge help. Just need some locals to point me in the right direction. Thanks!

2. CatFuStyle

CatFuStyle New Member

State:
    Xenia, Ohio
    dbtrail400, first off Welcome to BOC, you wont find a better group of people and knowledgable at that, if you cant find it here or get some answers here, then your not asking the right question that is for sure, your heading in the right direction, live or cut bait, gills, suckers, chubs, shad, etc..., live or dead, but majority of the time flats will hit live, channels hit pretty much anything under the sun, blues is usually cut bait, the best advise i can give is scout holes and spots, and fish fish fish, and dont be affraid to use small medium or large baits, there are plenty of catfishermen from that river area that could give you great pointers and get you going in the right direction and might even have you join them for a nights hunting of big cats, once again welcome to the BOC and enjoy...

Brandon aka: CatFuStyle

3. MiseryMike

MiseryMike New Member

State:
    Blue Springs
    Welcome to the Boc, im not local to you so i wouldnt know :smile2:

4. bluejay

bluejay Well-Known Member

State:
    Napoleon, Mo.
    Not from your area but welcome to the BOC.

5. marcusbigdaddy1