New to catfishing, need advice.

Discussion in 'LOCAL OHIO TALK' started by fisherman16, Mar 11, 2008.

1. fisherman16

fisherman16 New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Hi, I'm new to catfishing and need some advice. I was wondering what rods and reels you would recommend for a person new to the sport. I primarily bass fish, and only have experience with spinning reels. I would like to get a user friendly baitcaster (with a line-out alarm) and a decent rod all without breaking the bank. I have read good things about the Abu Garcia 6600BC but would like your input. Any suggestions would be helpful. Also, does the length of the rod vary if I plan to fish off the bank or out of a boat? Thanks.

2. bigBB

bigBB Member

State:
    St.Louis, MO
    ask 10 different guys and you will get ten different answers on rods, reels ect. Overall it seams that most ppl really like the abu 6500's etc. not exactly cheap but for the quality it doesn't seam bad. You may look at some of the combo deals bass pro has. they seam to be pretty good all around rod and reels to start with for sure. I think most ppl use a longer rod from the bank.. just so you can cast your bait out farther etc. I've only really gotten into catfishing in the last year so i am far from an expert but i will tell you, on this site you will get pretty much any info you need. good luck.

3. s_man

s_man New Member

State:
    south east ohio
    John, For just starting out, get a 6500 Abu and put it on a Ugly-stik tiger, medium-heavy for channel cats. If you want to fish 6 or 8 OZ of weight and a 1lb live bait for Flatheads get a 7000 and a ugly tiger Heavy. I only use 7ft 6inch rods. They work great from the boat or bank. The 6500 can reel in 40+ flats, but if you try a 7000 on a heavy rod you'll see the difference.

4. willcat

willcat New Member

State:
    texas
    welcome i think u made a good choice on the abu's

5. Mizzbigcat

Mizzbigcat New Member

State:
    Warren County Ohio