New to catfish ... New to NC

Discussion in 'LOCAL NORTH CAROLINA TALK' started by Maine-ahh, Jun 11, 2007.

1. Maine-ahh

Maine-ahh New Member

State:
    Maine
    Hi everyone, I just moved down from Maine for the summer. I fish a little bit back home but I'm new to catching kitties. I'll be on the Cape Fear river doing some bank fishing and need some advice on rod setup and such. I still need to buy a rod and I'm thinking of going with a medium baitcaster and run 14lb Berkley Fireline. I'm thinking of using chicken liver or cut shad for bait but I was also wondering if I could use lures? Don't know how well they respond visually compared to how well they respond with scents. I saw another fish in the river the other day at work but I wasn't sure what kind it was. It looked like a sucker fish of some sort. Any advise on catfish or any of the other fish in the river would be helpful. I'm used to catching bass of all sorts and this will be my first time down south.

Ohhh also, I was looking at the license needed and was wondering which one ill need to buy? Where can I get one of these?

Thanks for the help guys.

2. Shadwrap06

Shadwrap06 New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    Welcome to the site and welcome to NC! I would stick with livers, cut bait, bream, perch, punch bait, etc.... You can get your license online or at your locat Walmart or Sporting goods store. As far as equipment goes, I use a Ugly Stik CAL 1100 7' Medium with a Ambassadeur 6500 reel with Berkly Big Cat 20lb test. I don't know anything about the cape fear, but there are a lot of brothers on here that will help you out with that..:big_smile:

3. Catgirl

Catgirl New Member