New to Catfish at Smith Mountain Lake in Virgina

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA LAKES / RESERVOIRS' started by BoG, Mar 8, 2006.

1. BoG

BoG Member

State:
    Delaware
    Name:
    Bo
    I am new to fishing cats, but know the lake well because of trying to catch stripers. Any experience here for fishing Blackwater or Craddock? My boat is in a slip at Saunders/Parkway.

Need to learn to catch bait, right now I only use bluegill caught on a fly rod.

:confused:

2. bigblueone

bigblueone New Member

State:
    Virginia
    BoG,I live in callands. I don't fish there for cats just strippers.It's hard to catch bait there.I hear there are big flatheads around Hales Ford bridge.I only fish for blues,then I go Buggs.Ever try there? I go all the time great fishing there.SM Lake has to much traffic on it for me. If you ever want to try Buggs drop me a line.You can't never have to many fishing buddies.GOOD LUCK up there. 1bigblue

3. BoG

BoG Member

State:
    Delaware
    Name:
    Bo
    1bigblue,
    You are certainly right about the boat traffic. From Memorial Day to Labor Day I don't go except very early when the crazies are sleeping it off. Interesting though, my wife and I go for a picnic cruise on Sunday evenings (with trolling gear out) and have the lake almost to ourselves.

Fished for Stripers Sunday evening, and there was someone wake boarding! 46 degree water?:rolleyes:

I have always heard great things about Buggs, I don't know why I haven't fished it yet. Thanks for the offer, I may take you up on that.

Thanks

4. WHEELMOBILE07

WHEELMOBILE07 New Member

State:
    Martinsville, Virginia
    i agree, buggs for the cats and bass and crappie, and smith mountain for the bucketmouths and stripers

wheelmobile07

5. flathead willie

flathead willie Well-Known Member

State:
    Virginia