New to cat fishing

Discussion in 'Channel Catfish' started by dknutson, Aug 7, 2009.

1. dknutson

dknutson New Member

State:
    Branson, MO
    I am new to cat fishing and i am looking for any anwsers on a problem im having i have been fising at my local river and the cats are biting but they are picking up the bait and dropping it and then repeting i have caught a few but it seem like they dont hold it long enough, i am using dough bait

thanks

drew:eek:oooh:

2. Dirtdobber

Dirtdobber Guest Staff Member

State:
    Vian Okla
    Welcome to the BOC Drew.
    You might want to try using other types of bait. Like cut bait, liver, a dip bait. Without seeing your rig it is hard to tell if you are doing anything wrong. The cats may just be biting light. Maybe you can meet some of the guys on here that are from your area and you can get with them to fish some.

3. zac

zac New Member

State:
    peoria area illinois
    maybe try using night crawler or stink bait oh ya welcome to the BOC

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Drew Welcome to the BOC, from So. I:0a23::0a25:llinois. Sometimes the cats just hit light. Keep up the good work.

5. SGTREDNECK

SGTREDNECK New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Welcome to the BOC Drew. I agree I would use different baits. Cut bait is my go to bait.

6. JUG_LINE

JUG_LINE New Member

State:
    NE Oklahoma
    I have done this on a local river> I down sized my hook and caught some drum and perch. Change your bait up some minnows might be a good idea or some cut bait.

7. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky
    welcome to the BOC brother.give us some more info what kind of hook you using what size?the more info on your set up the better.

8. bedbug jr

bedbug jr New Member

State:
    Missouri
    Hey Drew welcome to the BOC!!!

9. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee