New to BOC, question on Schuylkill River?

Discussion in 'PENNSYLVANIA RIVERS TALK' started by tbarb227, Jan 28, 2009.

1. tbarb227

tbarb227 New Member

State:
    South Jersey
    hey guys. i found this website through google just trying to find out any info i could about catfishin. i mostly fish racoon creek and the big d right around the commodore barry bridge, but would like to expand my horizons this year and get a change of scenery lol.

im a union carpenter in philly and have heard some good things about the skuk. i am completely clueless when it comes to it tho. are there any good boat ramps you guys would recommend? i have a 16ft v bottom with a 50 evinrude (no power tilt/trim) this will be fine in there right? also any advice about it is greatly appreciated.

2. jolie

jolie New Member

State:
    PA
    Welcome to The BOC. I am not in the philly area, but the guys from the skuke are quite regular and will come along shortly.

Just out of curiousity, are you hoping to tangle with trophy size flatheads, too?

Stick with the site its a great chance to learn and share.

3. tbarb227

tbarb227 New Member

State:
    South Jersey
    thanks for the welcome. yes i have never caught a flathead and would love to get into some big fish!

i just really want to get a change of scenery i rarely left the racoon creek last year because of the convenience. i would just leave my boat at my friends dock and just hop in and go, but this year i would like to get into some different waters.

4. jolie

jolie New Member

State:
    PA
    Welcome to a whole new world, after I caught my first large flathead (tho it was prolly only 15-20#), I was shaking with excitement and didn't dream of fishing for something else that whole summer.... (and Ironically I haven't caught another fish of that size since)...