New to BOC, First Entry, Weekend Report

Discussion in 'VIRGINIA RIVERS TALK' started by HookLineSinker, Oct 14, 2007.

1. HookLineSinker

HookLineSinker New Member

State:
    Virginia
    I'm new to the site, and really glad to see that everyone is kind enough to share the info. I've been fishiing the Dutch Gap area for about three years. I know Jordan Point area for Striper but never gave the blues a try until last weekend.

10/6: Fished bridge area as I had a stuck float and had to use my kicker motor. Guess I was a victim of ethanol and not running the carbs dry. Fished from about 10AM Sat to 2AM Sunday. First fish was a 10 lbs., the second broke the line at my third attempt to land with boga grips. It was huge, about 12 inches across at the head. I was quickly convinced the BHB area holds some big cats. I also changed my mind about not needing a net and switched to steel leaders.

10/13: Fished from 5:00 to 11:00pm. Couple 15lb. range, one 31 and another 32lbs. and 42 inches long.

I hope to meet some other folks fishing the area, as it's always good to know some other boats while at night.

2. catfisherman60

catfisherman60 New Member

State:
    Greenwood AR.
    Welcome to the BOC. from Arkansas.

3. wolfman

wolfman Well-Known Member

State:
    Triadelphia, WV
    Name:
    Walter Flack
    Mark, welcome to the B.O.C., best catfishing community on the planet. Excellent 1st post brother, thanks for sharing.

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Mark Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois.Look forward to reading your post.

5. alwayslearning

alwayslearning New Member

State:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Welcome Mike. Looks like you had a good day on the river! Maybe I will run into you up there some time.:roll_eyes: I can't wait to get back up there and go fishing again.

6. crab

crab New Member

State:
    Ironton,Ohio
    Welcome to the BOC!

7. justlearning

justlearning New Member

State:
    VA