new to big water

Discussion in 'KENTUCKY LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by stiff, Feb 20, 2008.

1. stiff

stiff New Member

State:
    Ky
    I'm new to fishing big water for cats most of my time was spent on farm ponds and lakes less than 2 acres. I'm having trouble finding fish on rivers and big lakes. Been to the Green, Ohio, Rough River and didn't have any luck last year. Any suggestions as to what to look for on the banks and under the water?

2. catfishjohn

catfishjohn New Member

State:
    Greenup Co. KY
    Welcome to the BOC from KY!!! Not sure what to tell you, what part of KY you in? I'm sure we have members close to you that may be able to help out.

3. stiff

stiff New Member

State:
    Ky
    I'm from around Owensboro.

4. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Brian Welcome to the BOC, from So. Illinois.

5. krowbar

krowbar New Member

State:
    South Caro
    Find the baitfish on your fishfinder and you will find the catfish.

6. stiff

stiff New Member

State:
    Ky
    the bait fish will appear as lots of smaller fish on the fish finder, correct?

7. Steve Douglas

Steve Douglas Well-Known Member Supporting Member

State:
    Kentucky
    well if your looking for cats on big water such as the Ohio river ... you will want to look away from the banks .. i only look to the banks to see what type of structure its made of ... chunk rock , gravel, mud , mussel beds , etc... what you see on the bank is usually whats under the water also.

lets take chunk rock for instance,,more than likely the river bottom will be scattered with chunk rock and ledges or drops which cats relate to alot..

i will position my boat at least 50-100 yards from the bank and fish in 35-40 foot of water ,, my magic # is 35 foot . scatter your baits and fish , if you don't get bit in 30 min , pull up your anchor and move down 50 yards and try it again keeping your bait in the scent trail. you should hook up with one,