new to bass fishing.

Discussion in 'Bass Fishing' started by montgomery#1, Feb 11, 2008.

1. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah
    im new to bass fishing and i need some big time help. what do i use for rod bait and any thing else i need to know. and whats eating size for a bass. and what areas do i fish for them. im hoping to catch buckets mouths as well as smallys. ive caught a few small large mouths about 7-8 inches but im getting a pontoon boat this summer so i can be more mobile. any help would be much appreciated. thanks in advance.

2. caveman

caveman New Member

State:
    va
    there are so many different kinds of lures/baits for bass.

also even more different techniques/tactics!!

a few of my favs are,

Rat-L-Traps (crankbaits)-shad colors

Spinnerbaits 3/8 oz. chartuese/white

Finesse worms (4-5 in. straight tail) watermelon,shad,black colors. rigged texas style or weightless.

i normally fish light tackle, light/medium action rods, 8-12 lb test line, small spinning reels.

vaughn

3. AwShucks

AwShucks New Member

State:
    Guthrie, Oklaho
    Zeb, I understand where your coming from. Man, its hard to get enough bait to catfish with. Normally you sort of stalk bass... rocks, logs, brush, lily pads, weeds... places really not accessible or easily maneuverable in a pontoon. It may be worth your while to get a small aluminium boat and haul it around with the pontoon just so you can chase bass appropriately.

4. montgomery#1

montgomery#1 New Member

State:
    ogden utah