New to baitcasters

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Catfishwalker, Feb 17, 2008.

1. Catfishwalker

Catfishwalker New Member

State:
    Sebree, Kentucky
    Im looking to buy and learn using a baitcasting reel for the first time. Any suggestions on a reel for a beginner? I just bought 2 Catfish Safari river rods and need reels to fit them.

2. Mickey

Mickey New Member Supporting Member

State:
    Illinois
    Those are some great rods. I would put Abu 7000c3i reels on them. Lots of line capacity and real smooth operation. A good lifetime investment. Good luck on your choice.

3. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia
    First.All rods and reels should match and be compatible when ever possible for MOST fishing.There are exceptions when "Specialty gets involved.Give the info on your rods and the experienced Bait casters on here will help.

I am not one and I have little knowledge of them.I like you am trying to learn all that I can about them.My 50 + years of fishing has been with many other reels.

I love you Brothers and Sisters.peewee

4. Arkansascatman777

Arkansascatman777 New Member

State:
    AR
    Gary, First of all welcome to the BOC/SOC :cool2:, best catfishing site on the web! Be sure to check out the library, a lot of god info in there.

Get a couple of abu 6500's and you won't regret it.

5. flathunter

flathunter New Member

State:
    Ohio
    Get a couple of abu 6500c3's gret reels to learn with, and will last you for a long time.

6. MAX1955

MAX1955 New Member

State:
    KENTUCKY