New to Baitcasters--Need some help

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by alpal16, Jan 13, 2009.

1. alpal16

alpal16 New Member

State:
    Philly, PA
    Hey Guys. So I am new to baitcasting reels and have just purchased a couple of Abu Garcia Ambassador 6000's. Aside from the practice with casting that I need to do, I was wondering how one uses the baitclicker with circle hooks. It is my understanding that with the baitclicker on, the fish runs with the bait and the clicker goes off. Then you turn off the clicker when you want to start reeling. My confusion comes with using circle hooks. I was taught that the rod needs to load up when using circles before you start reeling (i.e., don't yank the rod or you will yank the hook out of the fish's mouth). But when you have the clicker on, how does the rod load up. Do you just turn the clicker off and let the rod load up? Basically, my question is how do you fish with the clicker and circle hooks?

Any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks a lot in advance.

2. Bill in SC

Bill in SC New Member

State:
    South Caro
    <Do you just turn the clicker off and let the rod load up? Basically, my question is how do you fish with the clicker and circle hooks?>

Briefly, you DON'T fish with the bait clicker with circle hooks. If you are using circles, do not deploy the clicker. Just let the rod load up and start reeling. Do NOT try to set the hook as this will result in the hook being snatched free. Try the Gamakatsu 8.0 Octopus circles for a great hookup/landing ratio!! GREAT choice in reels! reps out to you!

Bill in SC

3. brinley45cal

brinley45cal Active Member

State:
    kentucky