New to Ark city

Discussion in 'KANSAS RIVERS TALK' started by Woodrow Jr., Mar 8, 2006.

1. Woodrow Jr.

Woodrow Jr. New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Im new to the Ark city area and im looking for some places to catfish,any ideas?

2. bigflathunter

bigflathunter New Member

State:
    Lawrence, KS
    I lived in Ark City from August '04 to July of '05. The Arkansas runs right down the west side of town. There is Cowley state fishing lake about 13 minutes east of town on Kansas Ave. Just take Kansas east out of town and about 10-12 miles later you'll see a sign on the right for Cowley SFL, it holds eater channels and some flatheads. I cought an 11 lb flattie out of there, but that's the biggest fish I ever cought there. Old timers said there are flats in the 50-60 lb range in there, and I don't doubt it, but I never actually saw one.

I also ran a bankline off the closed Chestnut bridge into the river with live bluegills or greenies once and awhile, biggest yield was a 6 lb channel. I've seen a few blues come out in the 5-20 range, but that section of river is very heavily fished so the fish don't bite much unless the water is on the rise.