New reel enough?

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by dcconrad, Jul 7, 2007.

1. dcconrad

dcconrad New Member

State:
    ohio fairfield county
    i just got ahold of a abu garcia 6501 c3 for 40 bucks. is this reel capable aof handling cats? i am new to the baitcasters i have a shimano citica it works good for channles but for bugger cats?
    i have had plenty of bidsnests with them:angry:. but i am getting them down..... sorta...

2. catfishing is fun

catfishing is fun New Member

State:
    Missouri/Michigan
    yes that reel will handle big cats, i personly have recently quit using baitcasters i now use spinning but when i was a baitcaster i used the abu 6000, and i personly think it would have handled a cat up to about 40lbs no problem, but one thing i would recomend if it dosent all ready have it is go to catfish connection and order a power handle for it ( there $14.40 from there ), and in my opinion there well worth it

3. xringer3

xringer3 New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    That reel will handle really big cats. Just play it with the rod and have good line. The reel will hold up just fine. The only modification I would say is a big asset, is the smoothie drag washers. The power handle is ok of you're going to crank the fish in with the reel and not the rod. The reel would last longer if you let the rod do the work.

4. CatMaster23

CatMaster23 New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    that reel is great and you got a good deal on it too. Do you know anywhere i could get one for that cheap?

5. CJ21

CJ21 New Member

State:
    Montgomery, Alabama
    Ya it can handle cats.

6. cathouse

cathouse New Member

State:
    NY