New PB Flathead Catfish...Finally!

Discussion in 'MEMBER FISHING REPORTS (BECOME A FISHING LEGEND)' started by stumpjumper, Nov 8, 2009.

1. stumpjumper

stumpjumper New Member

State:
    Dallas, GA
    My wife and I had a great night on the river the other day. Finally a night without rain or wind...or fog :smile2: What made this night so special was that I finally upgraded my PB Flathead with a 51 pounder (new avatar)! I have been fishing for Flatheads for 18 years now... going back to those sleepless, 36-hour marathons on the Wabash River with the Reaper. So last night was something I have often imagined, and knew would eventually happen, although I never thought it would happen in November, and on cutbait. I can't tell you how many times in the past I would be fighting a fish and telling my wife, "I think it's a Flathead! It's fighting like a Flathead!" In short, I love Flatheads.

This fish hit on my old, heavy action E-cat combo, which was the same combo I used back on the Wabash. Anyway, the rod began to load and slowly doubled over before beginning to pull drag. I knew it was big when I struggled to get the rod out of the holder. I also began to tell Tricia that this was a big Flathead... but she has heard that one before. After several moments, in slightly more urgent voice, I told Tricia that this might be my new PB! The fight was awesome and it was made even better by the 60,000 cfs current. When the fish finally surfaced it was confirmed to be big! tricia skillfully netted the fish and then the celebration began. New PB!

We put some other nice fish in the boat including a two Blues over 35 pounds, but the Flathead was undoubtedly the highlight. It was great to get out and enjoy some time on the river.

Attached Files:

2. arkrivercatman

arkrivercatman New Member

State:
    KS
    Awesome! Congrats Marc, thats a beautiful flatty.
    You and Tricia make one he!! of a team.:wink::cool2:

3. puddle jumper

puddle jumper Well-Known Member

State: