New Member here, question on "bait choice" poll......

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Flatspontoons, Jul 11, 2008.

1. Flatspontoons

Flatspontoons New Member

State:
    Texas
    Hi Gents,

have looked over the site for a few days.....looks great with tons of info....just joined today.

Particularly interested in catching big flatheads. I'm 48 and have caught thousands of channel cats over the years, a few blues, but only a couple small flatheads (accidentally) when fishing for channels in a small river when i was in high school. I have been bowhunting and practicing falconry for the last 30 years and have been out of catfishing all that time, but have decided to lay-off the bowhunting for awhile and start trying to land some big flatheads (could never lay-off falconry, which is the sport of training hawks and falcons to hunt wild game....awesome sport!!)

Anyway, I live in Lewisville, Texas (20 miles north of Dallas).....Lake Lewisville is a 29,000 acre reservoir only 5 minutes from my house. World Record flathead was caught in it in 1982 (91 lbs.), then again in 1988 (97 lbs.)......understand that flathead record is now 123 lbs out of Kansas?

So I have a great place (plus a few rivers close by) to fish flatheads.....getting a boat in the next 4-6 weeks.......

I have also bought and watched (about a million times! :smile2: ) all seven of the "In-Fisherman" catfish video's.....my favorite is "Flathead Catfish: A Day on the River" with Doug Stange and Steve Hoffman.....great educational video for flathead-info......