New hooks

Discussion in 'Terminal Tackle Review' started by catfisherman369, Oct 2, 2009.

1. catfisherman369

catfisherman369 Floyd

State:
    Nashville Il.
    Anyone use 7/0 or 8/0 Gamakatsu octopus circles ?
    I had a few packs waiting on me from Gamakatsu today .
    I usually use eagle claw circles , but I believe that is going to change .:wink:

Last edited: Oct 2, 2009
  2. Jeremy Sheffey

Jeremy Sheffey New Member

State:
    Columbus, Ohio
    i just purchased two packs myself last weekend...the ones i got are 6/0 and 8/0... im going to try them first of next week....let me know what you think if you get to use yours before me...im new to circle hooks but i love GAMA's OCTO J's its hard to beat how sharp they are...

3. SWeiss

SWeiss New Member

State:
    Pennsylvania
    Yes on the OC hooks, Gama is all I use. Once you see the difference in sharpness over Eagle Claw you'll never use the EC hooks again. Even their Lazer Sharp brand is stone dull compared to Gama. Owner and Matzuo makes a darn sharp hook too!

4. Catfish_Scooter

Catfish_Scooter New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    Never have used octopus, but I just bought some circle sea ones from wally world few weeks ago that look worth tyin on.:wink:

5. plainsman

plainsman New Member Supporting Member

State:
    minnesota
    I got some 8/0 Gamakatsu circle hooks last summer. They are a pretty good hook, and even small cats can get em in their mouth. The best part is sheephead and other fish can't get em in their mouth. 8/0 is a good size. I had been using 5/0 until I could find the 8/0's and now I can use bigger baits.

6. Mr. Foster

Mr. Foster New Member

State:
    Kansas
    Those Gamas are sharp, I dont think you will be disapointed.

7. nitemare_63

nitemare_63 New Member

State:
    Indiana
    i have been using gamkatsu octopus hooks for a while now and i love them. this year im moving up to bigger sizes so im going to see how they hold up to bigger cats.

8. flathunter