New Deer Hunter Here!

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by Fire-Man, Jul 27, 2006.

1. Fire-Man

Fire-Man Member

State:
    South Carolina
    I am 50 and this is my first year of deer hunting. I will be still hunting. I am in a area that seems to have alot of deer movement, but not around where I chose to put my ladder stand. Maybe I am expecting something--to quick. I have had a slinger barrel feeder up for a month and a camera, but all I am attracting is squirells, raccoon's, opposiums, birds, but no deer. I chose this location by walking through the woods(Thick under grouth) and found a well used trail---well I had no problem seeing the trail through the woods and it had fresh deer tracks and I followed it a short piece and found several last year scrapes. I backed away from this trail a short piece and hung a corn slinger. It has drawed no deer and I have not seen any fresh deer tracks in the month the feeder has been hanging, I guess I ran them off, but I see alot of deer tracks crossing the dirt road as close as 100 yards from the feeder. There is a corn field about 50-60 yards from the feeder. The corn in this field has not been cut yet. I went yesterday and planted some deer attract clover/mix in a open area about the size of a small house in the middle of these woods(alot of work by hand). I will be able to see this spot from my stand. It is about 125ft from my feeder, but still to the side of this trail. I also put out a 50lb salt block. I just put up my stand yesterday. To give you a idea of my set-up-----I walk into the woods from a dirt rd to my stand that is about 75yrds from the road. When I get into my stand, my back is to the dirt rd--------using a clock numbers------we will say the road behind me is 6 oclock with straight in front of me as 12 oclock. At 9 oclock starts about a 20 acre corn field that goes away from me app 1/4 mile and turns to the right--shaped kinda like a P, the part of the field closest to me is only about 50ft wide. At 10