New Crappie Fisherman Here

Discussion in 'Crappie Fishing' started by stinkbaitjunkie, Sep 18, 2006.

1. stinkbaitjunkie

stinkbaitjunkie New Member

State:
    North Mississippi
    New to the crappie fishing thing. I went out for 5 hours this weekend. Caught only 3 luckily they were keepers. I heard one guy there that day caught 40. What am I doing wrong. The water is 79 to 80 degrees according to my fish finder. The thermocline seems to be anywhere from 10 to 14 feet deep (i'm guessing b/c thats where the schools are). I am trolling slowly with jigs, minnows, and jigs with minnows. This is a lake also. Are they just not biting this time of year or do you think its the way i'm presenting it. Another thing that might have hurt me is that the wind was blowing, the water wasnt white capping I call it but it was right there before it does. Thanks alot for the info, i'm new to it and still learning.

2. stinkbaitjunkie

State:
    North Mississippi
    Oh yea, it was in the morning too. From 7:00a.m. to 12:00

3. TDawgNOk

TDawgNOk Gathering Monitor (Instigator)

State:
    Tulsa, Oklahoma
    well, one thing you might try is minnows with crappie bites.

they work pretty darn good.

4. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

At times crappie can be picky. Around here they have recently started biting more at night than in the am. before that they were biting during the hottest part of the day. The one's I have been catching are all coming on minnows about a foot off of the bottom in about 14 foot of water, off of a pier. So as fickle as catfish can be a crappie can be worse, at times. Just keep plugging away. The only advice I can offer is that you may try to anchor around some brush piles where you marked fish on your fish finder.

5. fishinpals

fishinpals New Member

State:
    Virginia, Illinois