New Catfishing Club member from California Needs Help

Discussion in 'CALIFORNIA LAKES / RESERVOIRS TALK' started by katlover, Jan 26, 2006.

1. katlover

katlover New Member

State:
    california
    I'm new to catfishing(well actually i've been going about once or twice every summer for the past five years)and need some serious help. I live in moreno valley and I mostly go to lake elsinore. does anyone have tips on rods, reels, bait, or rigs? Anything will help.
    Thanks

2. Dreadnaught

Dreadnaught New Member

State:
    Henderson,Ky
    First I would like to welcome you to the BOC, Brother!!!

I am not familiar with your area as I am in KY ,but I can sugjest a few things that might help you in your adventures.
    I would recomend you use a rod with good backbone, such as a tiger Uglystick M/H (The Yellow Ones) and A good baitcaster such as the ABU6000 or 7000. I would also recomend you use a line suitable to the fish you are targeting. I never use a line under 20lb test for cats. For larger cats you need to use shad for bait or mackrel (cut or whole) as long as it is fresh. Hooks I would recomend7/0 to 10/0 kahle hooks. and hang on Brother!!!

3. Fatkat

Fatkat New Member

State:
    Blanchester, Ohio
    I don't know anything about your area but I'm sure you will get plenty of help here, I just wanted to say welcome to the BOC.
    :0a25:

4. shania

shania New Member

State:
    San Leandro, Ca
    :0a25: to the B.O.C. "Katlover"

I also live in California (San Leandro), in the San Francisco Bay Area. I fish the Ca. Delta alot, you will get mostly Channels Cats in California (in so.calif you may get some Blues) so I agree 100% with Dreadnaught on all of the fishing gear that you will need.
    :0a23:

Take It Easy,
    Bert:cool:
    (Shaina)

5. Baitkiller

Baitkiller New Member

State:
    Akron, Ohio
    Katlover

Welcome aboard brother,