New Boat, to me at least.

Discussion in 'Boat Tips' started by armyhooah, Jun 30, 2009.

1. armyhooah

armyhooah New Member

State:
    Lebanon, Ohio
    This is a 12' semi-v.

I am new to boating and boat fishing. This will be my first boat.

What advice and experiences can you all give me? I have the basic stuff, motor, trolling motor, not sure what kind of batteries? Life vest.

Not real sure about the anchors. What I have gathered so far form this site is to use a front anchor and a drift bag of bucket in the rear.

Thank you.:big_smile:

2. buckdoe270

buckdoe270 New Member

State:
    Overland, Mo
    Congrats on first boat
    Life vest always buy the best you can afford
    anchor chene are good

3. recordbreakin1

recordbreakin1 New Member

State:
    texas
    Congrats on the new boat.Make sure you have a good horn or whistle for all the crazies that run across the water at light speed.

4. 320hotrod

320hotrod New Member

State:
    KCMO
    Congrats on the first boat! Ubfortunately, you will be forever stuck with owning a boat, and will soon enough find out that you can't remember how you got along without one. As for a battery for that trolling motor, I would recommend a deep cell gel that can take the vibrations and constant discharge/recharge cycles. Have fun, and be safe!

5. lendog

lendog New Member

State:
    berks, PA
    congrats on the new boat, best advice is practice on the water, the more time out on the boat the more comfortable you'll be, a fish finder is also a must have tool, but don't get too used to this boat cause in a year or two you'll want a bigger one, and a bigger one, and a bigger one, thats what happened with me:wink:

6. GrandpaGoneFishing

GrandpaGoneFishing Well-Known Member

State:
    Linn Valley, Ks
    Congrats on the new boat. best advise I can give you is always Be Safe #1 Rule.

7. Jack Herber

Jack Herber New Member

State:
    Woodstock, GA