Never taking reels apart

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by slikk03, Jun 23, 2008.

1. slikk03

slikk03 New Member

State:
    illinois
    im the type that takes something apart and messes it up i own three abues will it hurt to leave them alone or will i be screwed if i just clean them on the outside

2. JERMSQUIRM

JERMSQUIRM New Member

State:
    il-waynesv

3. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia
    We are all different with different gifts and abilities.Folks not knowing their limits causes far more problems for all than knowing your abilities.My son travels over the south east operating a Crane.I repair all of our reels.We each have what we are good at.We each recognize what we "ain't good at".I am losing my ability with age and illness.Do what you feel comfortable with.

From Polaris Submarines to modern chemical plants,I was a mechanic.I fished and worked on fresh & Saltwater reels.I found "abuse" to cause the most damage of all.I believe in reading the manufactures instructions and following them.The folks who know more than the manufactures seem to have the most problems in my belief.I made 80% of my living because of such folk.Reels are no different from what I have seen since 1955.I hired all of my maintenance done on my possessions I did not have the tools for or the expertise to do.I hired out nothing that I could do.

Junkyards are full of good machinery destroyed by MECHANICS???.Sad but true.A reel is a machine.

It is yours.Do what you think you can and have the rest done.If you wish to learn,go for it.Buy cheap junk at a yard sale and take it apart if possible.It may not pay you to buy the tools if you do not have them.

Also.Will you ENJOY doing it or will it just be a "disliked" chore.This is everything to me in anything that I do not have to do.