NEVER Take Knots For Granted!!!!!

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by Crackr, Jun 19, 2006.

1. Crackr

Crackr New Member

State:
    Indiana
    I am fairly new to the game called 'Flathead Catfishing'. It shows....I haven't caught one this year thus far. With that said, a buddy and myself went out this past Saturday night to a section of White River neither one of us have fished in a long while (Access Site in Worthington, West Fork). We had a storm roll in about 7:45 PM, about a 1/2 hr after we first casted out, and it had ceased by 8:15 PM....with our poles still out there, nothing had happened. From that point using a Carolina Rig with live bluegill as my weapon, I had two 'false alarm' load-ups on my rod. All of this happened in a span of an hour after the storm came and past. But, at midnight, I had casted out one of my biggest bluegill in between a stalled tree under a bridge and a fruitful logjam across river. I had what I'll swear was my second ever, and biggest, flathead I ever landed.....yet didn't. I fought with the fish for only about 25 seconds, then a dead pop was felt. Alas, I reel in 30 lbs. of test, a 5 oz. no-roll attached, and a 'spiral-staircase' look of my line where my hook used to be.

I was sick, no question. I don't think I stand alone when I take pride in braiding a knot......my point is, don't take it for granted. There was no excuse for me other than that knot was tied in haste rather than the TLC required in ensuring your hook-up rate to close to 100%, whether it be a circle or kahle hook. I apologize if I sound dramatic, my point is I cost myself a trophy fish, my CPR routine, and the story that follows that needs NO exaggeration on my part.

Check your knots, then check 'em again. Don't be sorry like I am LOL.

2. bkhollan

bkhollan New Member

State:
    Washington, Ind