Neuse River

Discussion in 'NORTH CAROLINA RIVERS TALK' started by RPGNC, Jun 14, 2007.

1. RPGNC

RPGNC New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    I found a spot on 64 that has a little trail to walk down to the river, I've been fishing there alot and so far the only decent fish I caught was a 3 pound catfish, everything else was tiny. The only bait I have is worms and I was wondering if I should be using anything else. I'm new to catfishing and want to catch a big one, are there any good spots on the river I need to try?

2. bigblaze

bigblaze New Member

State:
    NC
    take the worms you are trying to catch cats with and use them to catch bream...then throw out the bream (I use a 8/0 gami. circle hook) and hold on...

not sure the exact spot your talking about but I caught my biggest flathead (23lbs) in that stretch of river and i know of a 32lb. that was taking out of the stretch and a few 20's as well...

Be patient flatheads travel along way sometimes looking for bait in the night time...not sure your line weight but I use 65lb. braided allot of snags and you may need to muscle the fish away from snags...make sure you have sufficient terminal tackle there are some monsters in there...not to mention HUGE bowfin and gar....

good luck and tight lines!

3. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    We've caught many over 40 pounds in the same area.

4. RPGNC

RPGNC New Member

State:
    North Carolina
    I guess I should buy some better gear, im using a shakespeare 4003SA reel, a 6 foot shakespeare rod with 20lb spiderwire line. Ive now tried 3 different spots on the river and havnt caught anything good. The water looks to shallow everywhere I go. I haven't tried fishing there at night yet, but im going to soon. I used a bream for a while, but I cut him into 3 sections and used a small piece of him. should I keep him alive and cast him out?

5. RPGNC

RPGNC New Member

State:
    North Carolina
  6. GETHOOKED

GETHOOKED New Member

State: