Netted my first shad(s)(?)!

Discussion in 'Catfishing Baits' started by kyredneck, May 31, 2009.

1. kyredneck

kyredneck New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    I'm new to cast netting and I can kick myself in the arse for taking so long to try it because i've been having an absolute blast with it since I've learned to throw it.

Ponds; nothing to them. Given enough time, I believe I could clean a pond out by going there early every morning and casting the shoreline; I mean I have been catching some nice size fish! Largemouths, sunfish of all kinds & sizes, snapping turtles, even suckers (guess someone put them there). FYI, I'm releasing everything except for some bait I gave to an ol' timer river rat buddy to bait his trotline (I'm not catfishing, I'm learning how to net fish, anyway, the flatheads haven't turned on here yet, and I have fish in the freezer).

River: the threadfin shad have proven to be about as elusive as anything I've ever hunted, but I finally caught four of them, in three casts, the other morning. I was proud like I'd killed my first deer. They died in about 5 min and i gave them to some one else to fish with (surprised me, they'd heard even dead shad were good channel cat bait!).

I haven't gone up to the dam in the pursuit of shad yet, but it's on the agenda. I've had a couple folks tell me that there are others that net the shad there. The river, as far as I'm concerned, has NOT been 'normal' yet this year. It seems every fish specie's schedule is out of sinc so far on account of the flooding from these cold rains. Water temp here three days ago was 65F. It orta be >70F by now.

Anyway, I just wanna let it be known, I HAVE netted me some shad. lol.

2. Welder

Welder New Member

State:
    Missouri