Needin help

Discussion in 'Gar Fishing' started by Tubby Catfishin, Aug 18, 2007.

1. Tubby Catfishin

Tubby Catfishin New Member

State:
    Ramseur, North Carolina
    Im new to the boc and was lookin for some different imformation on catchin gars! I was standin next to the river the other day and i watched a nice 3 or 3&1/2' gar swimmin just under the surface! Whats a good technique or bait to catch them?? ne help would b in appreciation. thnx

2. BAMA_CAT

BAMA_CAT New Member

State:
    Boaz,ALABAMA
    Try a some nylon rope that is frayed out with some cut bait!!

3. BAMA_CAT

BAMA_CAT New Member

State:
    Boaz,ALABAMA
    BTW Welcome to the BOC!!! From Alabama!!!!

4. headbanginhillbilly

headbanginhillbilly New Member

State:
    holden,missouri
    When we see gar on top sunnin themselves we throw a shiny spoon. We can usually get some of them to chase. good luck!

5. rosscatman

rosscatman Member

State:
    SW Ohio
    Welcome to the BOC.Why do you want to catch gar.except to kill them.

6. gadzooks

gadzooks New Member

State:
    Kingwood, Tx (Houston)
    Why do you want to kill them? They do little to the fishermen except take bait, bit deal.

7. craddock1

craddock1 Active Member

State:
    TENNESSEE
    the frayed out piece of nylon cord or small rope is the best i have seen. when they grab it they cant turn it loose because of the angle of thier teeth. you don't need a hook this way and it is fun to watch them take it.

8. Cattoo

Cattoo New Member

State:
    caneyville,ky.
    catching gar is a blast! i don't know why people think by killing them they are doing something good. hell you copuld kill a hundred a day for a year and not even put a dent in the population. these things have been around since the dinosaurs and are still doing well. quit killing them!

9. catmanjake

catmanjake New Member

State:
    Minnesota