Need your help!!

Discussion in 'The BOC's Animal House' started by littleman, May 16, 2009.

1. littleman

littleman Active Member

State:
    Illinois
    Doc I need your help!
    I have a lot of experience rehabbing mammals, but I'm clueless about birds. When someone brings me birds I have always past them off to another lady who specializes in birds. Unfortunately she is in the hospital and the next closes rehaber is two hours away and I haven't been able to get a hold of her.
    My problem is, yesterday one of the neighborhood kids brought me a small chick. I think its a starling, its kind of hard to tell it has just started getting its feathers. We had a bad storm and its nest was blown out of the tree. Its 3 nest mates had already died, and the poor thing was covered in ants. While i was getting the ants off i noticed something very strange. One side of the chick is completely swelled. The swelling seams to be air trapped under the skin, kind of like a huge air blister. The chick seems to be doing fine except for that. My question is, what is it and what should I do for it? Has it damaged a lung, and air is trapping under the skin? Or is it a birth defect, or infection?

http://i521.photobucket.com/albums/w334/waznormal/Picture047.jpg

2. Poppa

Poppa New Member

State:
    Pinson, Al
    I have no idea Littleman. Sorry.

3. psychomekanik

psychomekanik New Member

State:
    Illinois
    I do! Bloated like that it'd probably float! Put a hook in it and let it float around the docks in paris lake! LOL, sorry Trish Just joking. Unfortuneately your little friend does'nt look too well. I hope your motherly instincts are enough to help.

4. Herogre

Herogre New Member

State:
    Illinois