Need some help...

Discussion in 'General Conversation' started by Ictalurus Punctatus, Oct 24, 2007.

1. Ictalurus Punctatus

Ictalurus Punctatus New Member

State:
    Greensboro, NC
    I've decided to write a book. I'd kicked around a few ideas for some fiction, but never materialized past about half of an outline :eek:oooh:. Then it hit me. A how to book. I was thinking about 6-8 projects from flowerbeds, to outdoor grills and barbeque pits, to sets of steps, to small paving projects.

Now begins the work. Research.... Have you taken on a masonry project in the past? Are you planning a masonry project in the near future? What would you want or need in a "how to" book? Is there something you've run across that stumped you in a masonry project? I've been doing this as my only career for 16 years and some things I take for granted, someone doing this for a weekend project might not know. I'm just looking for some sort of barometer to tell me how I should gear this book.

Also, any authors out there who might have some pointers for someone writing a book in 2nd person... I welcome advice.

Thanks for any input you might have.

Jon

2. Mark J

Mark J New Member

State:
    Four Oaks, NC
    Yea, I need a coupla hundred block laid.:smile2:
    I have a mixer, one of those nice wood 4 foot masonry levels and alot of time spent watching folks lay brick and block in the past 20 years but I having laid a few before on my own I think the secret is in the mix.
    DIVULGE THE SECRET.

Is the premix good if you are laying small amounts or do you need a sand pile delivered?

3. ryang

ryang Well-Known Member

State:
    Blacklick, Ohio
    Name:
    Gary
    Jon even tho I cant stand the titles write so a dummy like me could understand it :big_smile:. I have pretty good mechanics (not enough to do anything) I understand how toos sometimes kind of. More along the lines I understand taking them apart but sometimes putting them together is where I get stuck LOL.

4. Ketch