Need some help with motor advice

Discussion in 'Boating' started by o'boro cat hunter, Jan 8, 2009.

1. o'boro cat hunter

o'boro cat hunter New Member

State:
    kentucky
    Found a nice boat has a 50 h/p Mercury Force in great condition.Is this a good motor.Any help would be great.Thanks

2. txthumper1691

txthumper1691 New Member

State:
    Temple, Tx.
    merc is a good engine, that an evinrude are my 2 top choices. but what size boat is it, is th 50 hs big enought to push it?

3. DJH1

DJH1 New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I have absolutely no experience with force motors, so take this opinion for what its worth.....

Most people will tell you they are junk and run from em. Have had several people tell me they're cheaper made and hard to get parts for. Like I said, take that with a grain of salt bc I have no personal experience with em. That said, I think you may have problems if you buy it and then try to sell it down the road.

4. biga

biga Well-Known Member

State:
    evansville
    sorry i havent called you back arron .. i am having phone issues right now. but if the deal falls thru on that one i still have mine. and i should have a new phone in the morning sometime..

5. roadkill636

roadkill636 New Member

State:
    warrenton misso
    I dont beleive Mercury and Force were ever togther ,,,the Chrysler name was changed to Force in the earlt 80s when Bayliner boats first came out targeting the first time boaters at a base - budget priced boat for the beginer just to get into the boating world. they were basicly a omc crossflow engine that got a bad reputation from brand new boaters that had NO eperience at boating and outboard maintnance,, therfore when the "new" boaters NEVER did any routin maintnance to there outboard they simply blamed it on the engine itself , therore the bad reputation... Its kinda like blaming the pencel for bad spelling:smile2:

6. Bubbakat

Bubbakat New Member

State:
    McMinnvill