need some advice on nightcrawlers/ farms

Discussion in 'LOCAL MISSOURI TALK' started by achezmn, May 8, 2008.

1. achezmn

achezmn New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I just started to collect my own worms, since they get expensive after awhile, and I need some advice.

I would like some advice on what to do to keep them alive and how to keep them growing. Quite a few of the worms are on the small side, so I would like some advice on what I can do to make them grow.

Thank you for any advice.

2. STICKBENDER

STICKBENDER New Member

State:
    Missouri
    I've been keeping worms for the last 3 years year round. I keep them in a old refrig in my shop,in worm bedding that I change out ever 6 months. I usually sprinkle old taco or corn chips that we usually have laying around. MYy brother can't beleive how big and lively they get.

3. kennylee

kennylee New Member

State:
    Missouri -
    hey alan, i dont know nothing about raising worms, but if u check out the members library i'm sure they have alot of good advice. good luck

4. delbert bumbleshoot

delbert bumbleshoot New Member

State:
    Overland Park,Kansas
    I only seem to be good at finding the worms not keeping them alive. I don't pick up the smaller ones. I can tell you that 500 plus big ones dont do too well in the small worm farm. The frig would probably help. I have a bait freezer but no frig. Check on them frequently and pull out any sick or dead ones.

5. delbert bumbleshoot

State:
    Overland Park,Kansas
    I only seem to be good at finding the worms not keeping them alive. I don't pick up the smaller ones. I can tell you that 500 plus big ones dont do too well in the small worm farm. The frig would probably help. I have a bait freezer but no frig. Check on them frequently and pull out any sick or dead ones.

6. Tim70

Tim70 New Member

State:
    Maplewood, Missouri