Need Help

Discussion in 'LOCAL KENTUCKY TALK' started by Southwind, May 25, 2008.

1. Southwind

Southwind New Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Hey fellows I am new to this sport fishing for "cats" I went with a friend of mine the other day and he was using a size 2 hook I thought this was kinda small but that what we used and cough several fish.
    But I would like to know what size and style hooks, kinds of bait, and the size of the bait, and how you rig your lines. Hope some of you guys will help a green newbie out. Thanks :big_smile:

2. brother hilljack

brother hilljack New Member

State:
    Shelbyville, TN
    I would say it depends on the water you are fishing and the type of cats you are trying to catch. I primarily fish "big" water so I target big fish. I use any where from a 6/0-12/0 circle hook to catch these fish. The smaller fish have no problems getting on the 6/0 hooks either. I hope this helps you out.

3. boswifedeb

boswifedeb USCA Jailhouse Lawyer

State:
    Tennessee
    Name:
    Debbie
    Welcome to the group Southwind. Have you tried looking in the Library section? It can tell you just about anything you would need to know. And don't worry, you'll get plenty of opinions on any subject on here!!:eek:oooh::big_smile: Hope this helps you out!
    Deb

4. duckbuster

duckbuster New Member

State:
    Ballard Co., Kentucky