Catfish Angler Forum at USCA banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

· Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi everyone. Just found this site yesterday & love it. Anyway, i'm new to the flagging jugs & just made some prototypes yesterday. Give me some feedback if you see a problem. I made these smaller than I wanted. I plan on making longer ones after I try these out. I used 3/4" pvc, 12" in length, 2 5/8" swimming noodle, 7" in length with 100 lb tarred dropline. I'm using about 10 feet of line with 2 drops. Barrel swivels at the end of the drops, a snap swivel at the end of the main line in case I want to use three or to attach my weight there. Don't plan on using 3 rigs. Seems like too much anyway. I mostly will be drifting as I fish mainly rivers with slow currents. My hooks are Eagle Claw 4/0 Kahle. I plan to use cut or live shad. So you know i'm looking for flatheads. Thats about it. Also, is it better to hook the shad through the nostrils or behind the dorsal? I heard the dorsal area can become soft & you could lose your bait there real easy. Any feedback is welcome. Good luck out there & hopefully I will be posting a new pic with a decent flathead in my hands...lol...

· Registered
4,613 Posts
Tim sorry i can,t help you a lot with your questions , but i did want to welcome you to the USCA /BOC , THIS IS A GREAT SITE WITH LOTS OF INFO . I am sure some of the gang that fishes jugs will give you some info to help u out .

· Registered
4,527 Posts