Need help with baitcaster without levelwind!!

Discussion in 'Fishing Reel Review' started by Unckle Jesse, Jul 25, 2007.

1. Unckle Jesse

Unckle Jesse New Member

State:
    Tennessee
    A couple of years ago I bought an old Penn reel at a yardsale for $5-10. I dont have it in front of me so I dont know the style #. It doesnt have a levelwind on it. I have never used one like this before. I tried it one time and all it would do is backlash and the line would bind up on the reel. I would really appreciate some info on proper use of this reel.

thanks,
    Jesse

2. BIG GEORGE

BIG GEORGE New Member

State:
    JOISY
    If I could I'd help ya. Never used one. I know they are real tricky and your thumb plays a really huge part in the process. Good luck to ya.

3. alton

alton New Member

State:
    Illinois
    You probably have a Squidder or Jigmaster. To cast non levelwind reels required a great deal of practice and an educated thumb. You need to adjust the spool tension with the knobs on the side of the reel. The tighter the tension the less chance for backlash. The looser the tension the more distance is available, but higher chance of backlash. When you cast, you must have your thumb ready to apply to the spinning spool if it starts to get away from you. The most important thing is to thumb the spool as soon as the bait hits the water to stop the spool or at least slow it down. If you don't do this, the spool will continue spinning and a birdsnest will occur. When retrieving the line, your thumb must act as a line guide to move the line across the spool to keep all of the line from balling up in one spot. There is no quick fix, just a bunch of practice, you will eventually get a feel for the rate the line is coming off the spool. Good luck.

4. Cheez

Cheez New Member

State:
    Trion,GA
    I've seen lots of the no levelwind reels but what is their advantage?

Cheez

5. peewee williams

peewee williams New Member

State:
    Pembroke,Georgia