Need help w/ calls

Discussion in 'Waterfowl Hunting' started by mudfather, Dec 17, 2006.

1. mudfather

mudfather New Member

State:
    iowa
    i am new to duck hunting and interested in spending the next few months learning to call.. looking for suggestions and recommendations on what call to start with so that i may learn how to call to get the ducks come in. plan on hunting the mississippi river between iowa and illinois. many help and suggestions would be greatly appreciated..

2. 223reload

223reload New Member

State:
    Oklahoma
    I'd check out Haydel's Game calls they offer all weather type calls in just about every imiginable type

3. Abu65

Abu65 Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Duck calls are hard to buy via a catalog, you need to go somewhere you can blow them. However RNT is my personel favorite. I like the Old style, short barrel & timbre call. Get the 3 disk RNT instructional set & practice, practice, practice.

4. laidbck111

laidbck111 New Member

dial the area code first. Oh you meant duck calls I have no idea

5. ncfowler

ncfowler Well-Known Member

State:
    NC
    Name:
    Jeff
    When i first started i was buying calls once a week I started with the old time fav A olt which is no longer being made but there is a company that makes them now, I must have about 30 calls ranging form 5$ on up and all types poly, wood ect. after a while i pulled all the call out of my blind box and keep just the one i felt had the best sound for the area i hunt, all are wood, There are many dvd on how to call this is a great way to get started, ounce you get the patterns down keep a call in you car/truck and pratice, I use to take the call fishing with me and lissen to the ducks and try to repeat them, and also try to calling in to you while your fishing, I belive there is no law saying you can't call ducks off season, good luck

6. mudfather

mudfather New Member

State:
    iowa