need help on reel selection

Discussion in 'Flathead Catfish' started by brandonbtbt, Jun 2, 2009.

1. brandonbtbt

brandonbtbt New Member

State:
    Cambridge, OH
    hello, im gettin ready to purchase a couple of big game reels... ive been looking at the abu garcia 7000 series and the shimano tekota 600 and 700 series... can anyone give me some input on these reels and/or make recommendations? thanks

2. USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT

USCA-RECLAIMED-ACCOUNT New Member

1st off-WELCOME to the BOC Brandon!IMO-they,re both good reels.For flattin,I,d stick with the 700 series if I went Shimano.I,m an ABU man myself.I,ve just grown up with them and trust them.I think you,ll find more parts and upgrade availibility for them too.Either way you go,you,re gonna be fine.Good luck and Good fishin!:big_smile:

3. katfish ken

katfish ken New Member

State:
    Paintsvill
    I've been fishing with Abu's since early 1970's, never had any problems with them. I still have and use one of the first pair of 5000 Ambassadeurs that I bought at that time. You can't go wrong with Abu.

4. skyhead

skyhead New Member

State:
    Iowa
    I just bought an abu 7000i. ive practiced with it quite a bit out in the yard and took it fishing about 3 times. It sure seems like a powerhouse. I really doubt you can go wrong with an abu 7000 for a heavy rig.

I got mine on a heavy rod, just last night i pulled in a 15 pound snappin turtle and i wondered a couple times if i still had the fish or in this case the turtle still on the line. :smile2:

5. readingcatfisher

readingcatfisher New Member

State:
    Berks coun
    I personally don't like baitcasters I use Okuma spinning with a baitrunner with no problems:wink:

6. brandonbtbt

brandonbtbt New Member

State:
    Cambridge, OH
    thanks everyone for the replies! it seems as if abu 7000 wins... i have 4 smaller abu bait casters and i like them a lot i just wasnt sure about the big game reels... (not to mention abu7000 = $100 tekota = $200)