Need Help/Info on Reading Deer Tracks

Discussion in 'Deer Hunting' started by Cat_Catcher29, Jan 2, 2006.

1. Cat_Catcher29

Cat_Catcher29 New Member

State:
    McKinney, Tx
    im new to hunting thing and i got a basic question how can u determine the age of a track can anyone explain it to me iv got alot of tracks around were i set up at but never see any deer so i figure ill follow a set but dont wanna follow one thats like day old and just want to know how i know out of all of them which are the newest but dont know how

2. Chris

Chris New Member

State:
    Spring Hill, Kansas
    I sent you a PM about animal tracks

chris

3. Cat_Catcher29

Cat_Catcher29 New Member

State:
    McKinney, Tx
  4. derbycitycatman

derbycitycatman Well-Known Member

State:
    Kentucky
    Name:
    your first name
    Check the ridges of the tracks, if they crumble or look old its old. If you can, set up or check muddy areas. If you can push in the top of a track with minimal ease and stays that way the track should be fresh. If it crumbles its old. Have fun tracking is addictive. :D

5. Bayoubear

Bayoubear New Member

State:
    near that hellhole dallas
    go out and look right after a good rain. any tracks you see will obviously be very new. smoothing out a section of bank around a water hole will do the same thing and also allow you to do a daily check to compare them to newer tracks made in subsequent days. youll know track A was made day before yesterday, track B yesterday, C made today and so on and so forth. will have a real life study guide on tracks and how age affects their appearance.

an even more controlled example would be to keep a foot off of a deer you kill and use it in your back yard for a similar type test.

6. centralcalcat

centralcalcat New Member

State:
    Marion, TX